Apr 18, 2017 BIH News, Public Notice

BIH-SANBio Call for Proposals

Submission Deadline Extended: 31 May 2017

Advert Placement Date:  12 April 2017


The Botswana Innovation Hub (BIH) in conjunction with NEPAD SANBio (Southern Africa Network for Biosciences) and supported by the BioFISA II Programme (a Finnish-Southern African Partnership Programme to Strengthen NEPAD SANBio) are inviting interested innovators in the biosciences sector to submit grant applications. The grant is for organisations in the SANBio member states* for innovations based on indigenous knowledge systems with a proof of concept, potential regional and global impact and which can be commercialised. Up to R1 million will be awarded per project.

Focus Area

Innovative solutions based on indigenous knowledge systems covering the impact areas of human and animal health and nutrition. Technology solutions could include, but are not limited to, nutraceuticals, preservatives, cosmetics, and nutritious products made from indigenous resources. The successful technologies must be ready to use or require only short term development.

 How to Apply

Please submit your applications to bihbiofisa@nepadsanbio.org, Documents (application form and guidelines) are available for download at nepadsanbio.org and bih.co.bw. The minimum requirement for applicants is a partnership between a Botswana based organisation and a SANBio member state based organisation.


Applications will be evaluated in line with the BIH-SANBio BioFISA II Specific Guidelines for this Call.


All applications should be received at bihbiofisa@nepadsanbio.org by 00h00 (midnight) on 31 May 2017.

Contact Us

For enquiries, please contact us at bihbiofisa@nepadsanbio.org

Indegenous Knowledge Systems Technology Innovations: Guidelines BIH Collaborative Call (PDF): Download Here

Expression of Interest (EoI) Application Form for the Indigenous Knowledge Systems Innovation Call: Download Application Form: Download Here


* SANBio Member States: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Lesotho, Swaziland, Malawi, Namibia, Mauritius, Zimbabwe, Seychelles, Madagascar and Zambia